Australian Psychological Society

The Australian Psychological Society (APS) has been an active member of the IUPsyS since 1957, and the Society has actively supported the Union in a number of different ways, ranging from either holding Officer positions on the Executive Committee or being a general member of the Executive Committee, to involvement in a variety of projects over these many years. The Society has also developed formal partnership agreements through Memoranda of Understanding with seven international psychological societies as well as a host of information relationships and collaborations with our sister national societies across the world.


Peter Macqueen is an experienced self-employed organisational psychologist, and a regular part-time lecturer and Course Co-ordinator at Griffith University, and previously University of Queensland. He is a Fellow of the Australian Psychological Society (APS), as well as the APS College of Organisational Psychologists (COP). He is currently a Council Member of the International Test Commission (ITC), and Chair of the APS Tests and Testing Expert Group. He has attended at least 20 international psychology conferences over the past 25 years, as well as ICP 1988 in Sydney.

Professor Jason Mattingley was appointed as Foundation Chair in Cognitive Neuroscience at the University of Queensland in January 2007. Professor Mattingley was appointed as Senior Research Fellow (later Principal Research Fellow) at the University of Melbourne, where he was Director of the Cognitive Neuroscience Laboratory within the School of Behavioural Science (2000 – 2006). Professor Mattingley has won numerous accolades for his research, including an Australian Laureate Fellowship from the Australian Research Council, the Distinguished Contribution to Psychological Science Award from the Australian Psychological Society, and the Monash University Distinguished Alumni Award. He was elected a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia in 2007, and a Fellow of the Association for Psychological Science in 2016.


Simon Crowe is Professor of Neuroscience and Clinical Neuropsychology in the School of Psychology and Public Health, La Trobe University. He is a past President of the Australian Psychological Society and was on the Board of the APS from 2006-2012. Professor Crowe maintains strong research programs into the neuropsychology of neuropsychiatric disorders and a variety of neuropsychological assessment issues. He has published three monographs, more than 140 refereed journal articles and numerous book chapters, conference presentations, notes and commentaries. He has supervised more than 40 doctoral degree candidates (PhD and DPsych) as well as numerous Masters and fourth year theses.



Frances Mirabelli is the chief executive officer of the Australian Psychological Society, the leading body representing psychologists in Australia. A former CEO of AMA Victoria, Ms Mirabelli has extensive experience in the health and not-for-profit sectors. Following an education in business administration and applied science, she held leadership roles in aged and community care management at organisations including Wintringham and the Mayflower Group. A forthright leader, Ms Mirabelli has also completed the Cranlana Colloquium and has served as a Board director for Whitehorse Community Health, Yarra Community Housing and Star of The Sea College.


Jacky has made significant contributions to quality education at UNSW (eg though relevant committees of the Academic Board) and nationally (eg as a founding member and vice-president of the Australian Learning and Teaching Fellows), and to quality psychology education (eg through the Australian Psychology Accreditation Council Working Committee, and APS Education Committees). She currently holds leadership positions in national and international psychology associations. Jacky's awards include two VCATEs and two national (Carrick, OLT) citations (with colleagues), and the APS Award for Distinguished Contribution to Psychology Education.



Professor Mike Kyrios is an internationally recognised clinical psychologist who holds the position of Vice-President and Executive Dean of the College of Education, Psychology and Social Work. Throughout his career, Professor Kyrios has undertaken a range of academic, practice, professional & administrative roles, and currently also holds adjunct positions at the Australian National University, the University of Melbourne and Swinburne University. Professor Kyrios has published extensively, sits on a range of national and international editorial and review committees and is a prolific presenter to conferences in Australia and internationally.


Mike Knowles is a former President of the Australian Psychological Society and a member of the Organising Committee for the 1988 International Congress of Psychology in Sydney. His other main connection with IUPsyS is as a member of the founding Committee of the Regional Conferences of Psychology the aim of which is to foster the development of culturally-relevant psychological science and practice around the world, an involvement and interest that has extended from 1994 to the present.


Ros has over 25 years of Clinical Psychology experience in varied work settings. She currently runs a private practice of general clinical clients. She has been supervising Provisional Psychologists for 20 years and has Directed the Psychology Clinic since 2007. She is involved in the Australian Psychological Society as current President. She contributes to research in Outcome measures of practical placement performance.